Titles are EASY

So last night, I decided to bite the bullet on something that has been bothering me for a couple of years: the title of the Big Damn Novel. It needs a better one. One of my beta readers had kindly pointed this out on her readthrough, and while she and I couldn’t agree on a new title, I did come around to her way of thinking. (In case you’re wondering, Leah, this is you. :D) But I’ve been putting off thinking about it.

I now have a Notes file, several notebook pages filled with scribbles, and a wordle for inspiration, and damn it, I’m still stuck. But because I went to the trouble of making a wordle, I’m putting it here for your enjoyment. So…here are some very common words from my book, because, as A. says, quantity = theme. Or maybe it was quantity = quality. Or maybe it was quantity = more pizza. (Really not sure; I’ve been missing sleep because baby E. has had a viral infection and a lovely high/scary fever) Anyway, enjoy!

Screen Shot 2016-03-22 at 1.34.22 PM.png

It’s funny to see that JAKE out there — but he’s the main character, so it’s unsurprising. I like seeing all the character names displayed so prominently, and the weird refrigerator magnet poetry combinations the words make, and that wee little memory under Jake. Ah, “Jake,” the most popular male character/hero name of our time. Maybe I should be changing something other than the title…

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Titles are EASY

  1. This is the one I read, yes? Do you want to be clever/funny (e.g., “Déjà View”) or more serious? When I’m looking for a title I often go hunting for quotes since they’re short and pithy. For example, Georges Duhamel said “Do not trust your memory; it is a net full of holes; the most beautiful prizes slip through it.” So from that you could get “A Net Full of Holes.”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This is an excellent tip, thanks! I’m really at a loss for what I want–the previous title was hefty-feeling and a quote from a poem, and I can’t find a humorous one that feels right. Although A and I certainly did try, but what is funny to us currently is only universal to drunks or the sleep-deprived. :)

      Like

    2. Also! I like your suggestion of “A net full of holes.” I think I’m looking for something like that. Shakespeare and poetry have always been my fallbacks for interesting title bits. But I’m worried about being too pompous or inaccessible. How about “An Inaccessible Pomposity: a love story about this guy Jake who [spoiler] [spoiler] and then this other guy [spoiler] not to mention [spoiler].”

      Like

Leave a Reply

