Flap your Yapper

My friend Carin gave me a lovely Christmas present a while back: a set of rosette irons and a Scandinavian cookbook. I haven’t had much chance to do cookies or breads, much less a smorgasbord, but lately I’ve had a hankering for pancakes. What do you know? On page 5 of Julia Peterson Tufford’s Original Scandinavian Recipes, we have these:

Fløtelapper

Ingredients:

1 cup sour cream

1 tablespoon sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 eggs, well beaten

1 cup flour

Method:

Whip the sour cream with the sugar. Add well beaten eggs and flour to make the batter slightly thickened. Beat well. Bake in small cakes on griddle.

When I first looked online for Norwegian pancakes, I found a lot of delicious crepe-looking things. Will be trying those next. I’m sure A. won’t mind a week of pancakes…

Anyway. I made the fløtelapper, and I have to say that unfortunately, the sour cream does not justify itself. Bah.

Leave a Reply

