Resolutely Resolving in 2015

Right, resolutions! I had some very specific ones last year, compartmentalized by topic and transcribed from a little list notebook I carried around with me. It reminds me of the lists I used to make up as a kid, back when I was looking for things to type on my mom’s tank of a typewriter: specific and a little loopy. For your entertainment:

Title: **Resolutions for the New Year AND BEYOND…**

1. Save money each month for a house. (check)

2. Have a baby with A. (check. Also, “with A” as opposed to, say, Keith Hernandez, I guess? Sheesh.)

3. WORK at work. (check! Of course check! What?)

4. Finish work project to the best of abilities. (check)

5. Relax. Lose anxiety. Or at least, lessen anxieties. (HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAAH. 2014 was probably one of the most stressful years I’ve had in a while. Nice, 2014. Nice.)

6. Writing Goals! (So important it’s a separate bulleted list)

  • Write every day. EVERY day.
  • Finish things still open
  • Submit stories for publication
  • Submit first novel to [Big Ol’ Publisher name] after [Other Big Ol’ Publisher name] rejection comes back/is final.
  • Outline and write Red Glass novel
  • Try new forms
  • Write on LJ/DW 1x per week
  • Blog 3x per week

7. Call or send cards/letters to people you love (eh. Somewhat check. Could’ve done more.)

These aren’t bad. My resolutions tend to be closer to laundry lists than lofty goals, and I like them that way. I really did hit most of my general (which is probably why Baby E came early — he wanted to make sure I met my 2014s and didn’t carry him over in 2015, riiiight) and although I came nowhere near almost ALL of the writing goals, I did a lot of writing, and I attempted NanoWriMo for the first time in a few years. None of my writing was publishable, but it felt like a good workout. I think I’ll cannibalize this list for a new one.

PEPPERY’S 2015 RESOLUTIONS

(Er. For my records. Don’t you dare hold me to these, blog police.)

General

1. Raise Baby E. This will be so easy, ha ha ha!

2. House projects to work on:

  • Fence
  • French drain
  • Front landscape and gardening
  • Siding patch
  • Backyard garden boxes
  • Bathrooms
  • Windows
  • Painting
  • Garage door
  • Basement carpet and closet

3. Find part or full-time work once job disappears.

4. Outdoor recreation!

  • Hiking
  • Camping
  • Caving
  • Canoeing
  • Bike riding

5. Help sis with her wedding plans.

6. Writing Goals!

  • Write every day. EVERY day. YEP. DO IT.
  • Finish your shit.
  • Submit stories for publication.
  • Complete editing work on Big Ridic Novel.
  • Outline and write Red Glass novel.
  • Finish weird-magic novel.
  • Blog 2x per week.
  • Tweet tweet tweeeeeeet.
  • Turn off autocorrect.
  • Play around.

And, because I still like it:

7. Call or send cards/letters to people you love

There. Now that I have made my latest pretentious little-girl list, I can go feed baby to the tunes of a bad TV movie.

3 thoughts on “Resolutely Resolving in 2015

    1. One of them has been “in the works” for about five years, so it might be a non-starter. (In truth, it’s one of those ideas that I don’t think I can do justice to. I’ve got ten chapters of a first draft and two of a second, and I don’t know why I think third time will be the charm.) The other started as an attempt at light magical fluff and quickly devolved into Peppery-Can’t-Write-Anything-Fluffy fare. So not sure where that one will end up either! But I hope to finish both. THIS YEAR. YES. :D

      Like

Leave a Reply

