Drugs, drugs, drugs. And also, babies.

Here’s a link to a WebMD article about a new study done on the ulcerative colitis drug infliximab (Remicade):

Certain Autoimmune Drugs in Pregnancy May Up Newborn Infection Risk: Study

Although if I’m reading correctly, it says that only four women were tested. I’d be curious to know what a larger study would show. And since infliximab isn’t used solely to treat ulcerative colitis/Crohns, you’d think they’d be able to wrangle a larger test pool. Here’s hoping!

Lately in my pregnancy and baby reading I’ve been seeing repeated warnings about how certain things, such as caffeine/drugs/something or other/whatever “cross the placenta.” This phrase is repeated over and over, and each time I envision Moss’s ringtone (and eyes) in the back of my mind. YES, IT CROSSED THE PLACENTA:

Perhaps I should take this more seriously, but it just sounds like setup for something like the Crawling Eye. The Creeping Placenta. I dunno.

Books I’ve enjoyed so far: The Expectant Father. It’s got a few silly, somewhat stereotypical parts, but I have to remind myself while reading that I am not the target audience, because I am….NOT the father.* (Also there’re some terrible blurbs on the back, most notably the one from Sesame Street Parents, that announces: “Read a book? Who has time?” What the HELL, Sesame Street-afilliated product? Ugh, ugh, ugh.) But there’re a lot of good common-sense ideas in there about financial planning and insurance questions that I haven’t yet seen in some of my other baby book-stack, which makes me wonder why not. There is also a giggle-inducing section about emergency delivery, which I read out loud to A. until he turned pale and poured himself more coffee. Key takeaway: do not yoink on the umbilical cord to deliver the afterbirth more quickly, it’s not a good idea.

In non-baby-related reading, I’ve got The Bible As Literature on the top of the pile. What are YOU all reading, baby-related or not?

* Though I am without a doubt hilarious. Thanks. Thanks. I know. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

